À La Mode at Diane von Furstenberg

Backstage, Diane Von Furstenberg is pinching my cheeks, asking, “How old are you?”

“Guess,” I said, her warm hands still on my cheeks.

“Ten,” she playfully exclaims.

Unfortunately, there were no cameras capturing this momentous encounter, but the moment will remain engrained in my memory forever. This meeting, or should I say “rendezvous” as DVF’s collection is called, and the fantastic tres French pieces completely blew me away.

“It’s about seduction,” Furstenberg said backstage, pointing out the fitted dresses and the soft, oversize coats that covered them. “A heightened awareness to the promise of places she has not yet been,” her program notes assured.

DVF and her right-hand man, Yvan Mispelaere, did not disappoint. Though opening with an off-the-shoulder, black wool jersey dress, the looks are mainly about daring, refined color pairings: a sleeveless cerulean blue top with a rich red pencil skirt; a chartreuse bouclé coat over a yellow top and berry pants, and a lustrous pink, long-sleeve top tucked into a Bordeaux bottom, divided by a red leather belt. The designer, no stranger to prints, tones things down considerably and arrives at a beautiful outcome.

The collection is suffused with elusive sultriness, and features unpredicted, plunging necklines and leg revealing slits — the epitome of Parisian chic.

As with any French event, the audience was just as fabulous as the presentation. As I was trying to walk to my spot, I bumped into a powerful group of people, including Barbara Walters, who was sitting front row next to Oscar de la Renta. Molly Sims, Rachel Zoe, Solange Knowles, Andy Cohen, Brad Goreski, and Anderson Cooper were among the other famous faces there to show support.

All photos taken by Eliora Katz (unless I’m in it).

Anna Wintour

DVF, Molly Sims, Solange Knowles, Anderson Cooper, Rachel Zoe, Brad Goreski, and me

Tags:

2 Comments on “À La Mode at Diane von Furstenberg”

  1. Madeleine February 23, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    oohhhh my!
    what a fine fall it shall be…. especially with Brad Goreski! (:

  2. Linktest April 2, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Great write-up, I have saved as a favorite this blog so with any luck , I’ll see much more on this topic in the foreseeable future!

Leave a Reply

